Climate Change Laws of the World will soon be upgraded to be AI powered, see full announcement
United Kingdom flag
United Kingdom

Code for Sustainable Homes

legislation type Executive
Passed in 2006
Building on the recommendations of the Sustainable Buildings Task Group, the Code was developed to support a step change in the building of sustainable new homes. The Code provides a single national standard to guide industry in the design and construction of sustainable homes, considering energy among other aspects.

Since 2007 the developer of any new home in England can choose to be assessed against the Code. From 2008 it was mandatory for all new homes to be rated against the Code and to include a Code or nil-rated certificate within the Home Information Pack. Even though the requirement for the Home Information Pack for property sales was suspended in 2010, an Energy Performance Certificate is still required.

There are six levels of the Code, with mandatory minimum standards for energy efficiency at each level. Level 1 represents a 10% improvement in energy efficiency over the 2006 Building Regulations. Level 6 would be a completely zero-carbon home (heating, lighting, hot water and all appliances).

Improvements in the energy efficiency of new homes of more than 25% compared to 2006 regulations (Level 3 of the code) would probably require some form of low- or zero-carbon energy generation, either by individual buildings (eg dedicated solar water heating) or by whole developments sharing a source of low carbon generation (eg wind turbines).


from the Grantham Research Institute
from the Grantham Research Institute
Publication banner
Climate Change Laws of the World uses cookies to make the site simpler. Find out more about cookies >>