Climate Change Laws of the World will soon be upgraded to be AI powered, see full announcement
Netherlands flag

National Climate Adaptation Strategy

legislation type Executive
Adaptation Framework
Passed in 2016
This National Climate Adaptation Strategy introduces various new initiatives and will accelerate the progress of ongoing initiatives in the Netherlands.
 The NAS uses four diagrams ('Hotter', 'Wetter', 'Drier' and 'Rising Sea Level') to visualise the effects of climate change within nine sectors: water and spatial management; nature; agriculture, horticulture and fisheries; health and welfare; recreation and tourism; infrastructure (road, rail, water and aviation); energy; IT and telecommunications; public safety and security.
 Six climate effects which call for immediate action are identified: 1) Greater heat stress leading to increased morbidity, hospital admissions and mortality,
 as well as reduced productivity, 2) More frequent failure of vital systems: energy, telecommunications, IT and transport
 infrastructures, 3) More frequent crop failures or other problems in the agricultural sector, such as
 decreased yields or damage to production resources, 4) Shifting climate zones whereby some flora and fauna species will be unable to migrate or
 adapt, due in part to the lack of an internationally coordinated spatial policy, 5) Greater health burden and loss of productivity due to possible increase in infectious
 diseases or allergic (respiratory) conditions such as hay fever, and 6) Cumulative effects whereby a systems failure in one sector or at one location triggers
 further problems elsewhere.


from the Grantham Research Institute
from the Grantham Research Institute
Publication banner
Climate Change Laws of the World uses cookies to make the site simpler. Find out more about cookies >>