Austria flag

Climate Protection Act (Klimaschutzgeset)

legislation type Legislative
Mitigation Framework
Passed in 2011
The Act lays down GHG emission thresholds for six sectors not covered under the EU ETS for the period 2008-2012 and the period 2013-2020 - waste, energy and industry not covered under the EU ETS, fluorinated gas, buildings, agriculture, and transport. Article 4 creates a National Climate Protection Committee, comprised of representatives of the Lander, federal ministries involved in climate change (Environment, Finance, Economic, Transport, Health, and Justice) and representatives from trade unions, industry, and agricultural associations.


from the Grantham Research Institute
from the Grantham Research Institute
Publication banner
Climate Change Laws of the World uses cookies to make the site simpler. Find out more about cookies >>